Skip to main navigation.


Applications for the Howard Baker Memorial Scholarship and the Walter Harrison Scholarship will open on Friday, Sept. 1, 2017 at 12:00 a.m. and close on Monday, Jan. 8, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. Only students who reside in households of North Georgia EMC members are eligible for the Baker and Harrison scholarships. 

Howard Baker Memorial Scholarship

The Baker scholarship is offered every fall to high school seniors who live with an NGEMC member. The student must attend school in the same county where he or she lives. The scholarship is awarded to one senior in each of the seven counties served by NGEMC. These counties are Catoosa, Chattooga, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Walker, and Whitfield.

This scholarship was named after long-time NGEMC director and co-op pioneer Howard Baker. Baker represented Chattooga County on the NGEMC Board of Directors from 1949 to 1996. He was instrumental in bringing TVA power to Northwest Georgia. In 1935, as Extension Service farm agent in Dade County, farmers sought his assistance in obtaining TVA power for their farm homes. He became a part of their positive coalition to electrify their rural life, and on April 6, 1936, he was with delegates at Chattanooga when TVA officially organized and named North Georgia Electric Membership Corporation.

In 1949, Baker began his service as NGEMC director and served as assistant secretary-treasurer from 1971 to 1972; secretary-treasurer 1972-1992; and as board president from 1994 to 1996. At his retirement in 1996, he had served 47 years on the board. In 1984, he was presented a "Pioneer Award" by Georgia EMC for his years of service to rural electricity in Georgia.

Apply Sept. 1 2017- Jan. 8 2018.

Return to top.

Walter Harrison Scholarship

The Harrison Scholarship is made available through NGEMC in partnership with Georgia Electric Membership Corporation (GEMC). 

The scholarship is available to high school seniors who have been accepted to an accredited Georgia college, university or technical school or any undergraduate student currently enrolled in an aforementioned school. This scholarship was created in 1985 to honor the late Walter Harrison, a pioneer in bringing electricity to rural Georgia.

The Walter Harrison Scholarship Fund is financed through donations from Georgia’s EMCs and other associated organizations.

Harrison was instrumental in beginning Planters EMC in his hometown of Millen and helped to begin the EMCs’ statewide service organization, GEMC, where he served in various capacities from 1941 to 1975. Harrison also served on the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s board for 31 years including two years as president of the organization.

Apply Sept. 1 2017- Jan. 8 2018.

Return to top.





Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Georgia Utilities Protection Center logo. Touchstone Energy Adventure Cooperative Action network logo.