Skip to main navigation.

Quick Facts About NGEMC


 May 11, 1936 as a not-for-profit electric cooperative.

Total Number of Metering Points

Approximately 100,000.

Counties Served

Catoosa, Chattooga, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Walker, and Whitfield in Northwest Georgia.

Annual Meeting

First Thursday in August - NGEMC's 80th Annual Meeting is scheduled for Aug. 4, 2016 at the Northwest Georgia Trade & Convention Center.

Our System

34 substations, approximately 6,400 miles of line.

Our Peak

NGEMC is a winter-peaking system, with an all-time peak demand of 754 megawatts on Jan. 7, 2014.

Membership Mix

85% residential customers, 15% commercial/industrial customers.

Load Mix

60% residential, 40% commercial/industrial.


As a not-for-profit electric cooperative, NGEMC is fully supported by its member-owner-rate payers, receiving no public tax monies or publicly/privately held investment funding.


Dalton, Fort Oglethorpe, Trion and Calhoun

Recruits and Retains Business & Industry

NGEMC partners with Georgia Department of Economic Development, Georgia EMC, Southeast Industrial Development Association (SEIDA), TVA, local Joint Development Authorities, local communities and other utilities.


North Georgia EMC is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors elected to three-year terms by the membership of the co-op. This board sets policy and oversees the operation of the organization. The  President and CEO, oversees daily operations of NGEMC with assistance from management staff and approximately 175 employees who work at NGEMC's four offices in Calhoun, Dalton, Fort Oglethorpe and Trion.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Georgia Utilities Protection Center logo. Touchstone Energy Adventure Cooperative Action network logo.